Incorporated in 1966, the Town of West Yellowstone enjoys a Charter form of government with self-governing powers.  In other words, the Town has its own “constitution,” which outlines its structure of government.  The Town Council is the governing body, which consists of five Council members.  Council members are elected at large on a non-partisan basis to serve terms of four years.  One member of the Council is elected annually by the Council to serve as the Mayor.    The Mayor is the presiding officer and votes as the other council members.  The Town Council also appoints a Town  Manager who serves under contract as the chief executive and administrative officer for the Town.

Click Here to read the Charter for the Town of West Yellowstone.

The Town Manager directly supervises four department heads: Chief of Police, Job & Social Services Director, Public Services Superintendent, and the Finance Director.  Each department head supervises between one and six employees.  Except for the Chief of Police, the Town Manager and Department heads have offices in the Town Hall; 440 Yellowstone Avenue.  The Chief of Police may be found at 124 Yellowstone Avenue.

The Town Council holds regular meetings on the first and third Tuesday of each month.  The meeting agenda is prepared by the Town Clerk and approved by the Town Manager.  All Town Council meetings include a “Public Comment Period” which is an opportunity for any member of the public to address the Council.

Learn more about our Town…

Departments-find specific information pertaining to a particular department.

Town Boards-become involved; definitions of Town advisory boards.

Staffing Plan-visual of the structure of Town of West Yellowstone employment.

Town Council-member information and link to Town Council agendas, minutes and packets.

Capital Improvement Plan-current and archived five year spending plan for large items of equipment and projects.

Town of West Yellowstone Budget

Annual Financial Report – Report required by the State of Montana that shows the financial status of the Town and is used for the Audit Report prepared annually by the Auditors